Pathivaayi Njaan-Me Often


Due to lot of requests from readers in the comments section, i have tried my bit in translating this song.



Pathivaayi njan avale kaanaan pokaarunde
Pathivottum thettaathe njaan kaanaarunde
Palanaalaai ullilothukkiya novaanenne
Parayaathini vayya nenjil theeyaanenne

Pathivayi njan avale kaanaan pokaarunde
Pathivottum thettaathe njaan kaanaarunde

I venture out to see her often,
And I don’t miss a day without seeing her even
‘am carrying the anguish deep within for long
And can’t hold myself any longer,
As this anguish is scorching from inside
I venture out to see her often,
And I don’t miss a day without seeing her even

Palanaalaai ullilothukkiya novaanenne
Parayaathini vayya nenjil theeyaanenne

‘am carrying the pain deep within for long
And can’t hold myself any longer,
As this anguish is scorching me from inside

Thirayilakana mizhiyoru arali poovanenne
Madanappoo chendu virinjathu polanenne

Eyelids open up to reveal the nerum within her
Which blossom a bud of passion-flower within me

Madhurappathinezhilurukkiya ponnanenne
Mazhavillu varachathu poloru pennanenne

Damsel who turned my teen into a sweet seventeen
Is a nymph as beautiful as the colors of rainbow

Thirayilakana mizhiyoru arali poovanenne
Madanappoo chendu virinjathu polanenne

Eyelids open up to reveal the nerum within her
Which blossom a bud of passion-flower within me

Madhurappathinezhilurukkiya ponnanenne (avalude)
Manimaaril chernnu mayangaan kothiyanenne
You forged my teen into a sweet seven-teen
I long to embrace in your bosom to forget myself

Pathivayi njan avale kaanaan pokaarunde
Pathivottum thettaathe njan kaanaarunde
Palanaalaai ullilothukkiya novaanenne
Parayaathini vayya nenjil theeyaanenne

Palavazhikalumadavukal palathum paazhaayenne (paazhaayenne)
Orupaanamudangaanennum koodaarunde (koodaarunde)
I venture out to see her often,
And I don’t miss a day without seeing her even
‘am carrying the pain deep within for long
And can’t hold myself any longer,
As this anguish is scorching from inside
I venture out to see her often,
And I don’t miss a day without seeing her even
The many ploys of mine, is going in vain ( in vain)
In the coterie, have not missed a single slug (coterie)

Kanivottum kittaathe njan karayaarunde
Gathikettittavalude purake alayaarunde

Palavazhikalumadavukal palathum paazhaayenne
Orupaanamudangaanennum koodaarunde
Have wailed for not getting single gaze of yours
Have roved behind you out of hopelessness
The many ploys of mine, is going in vain
In the coterie, have not missed a single slug

Kanivottum kittaathe njan karayarunde
Kalikaalam allaathendhu parayaanenne

Have wailed for not getting single gaze of yours
It is the age of demons, need to make peace

Leave a Reply

